The Central Flyway is composed of the states of Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, and North Dakota, and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories.

The Central Flyway Council contains representatives (usually agency administrators) from the states and provincial agencies that have management responsibility for migratory bird resources in the Flyway.

Central Flyway Council mission: To provide leadership in the international conservation of migratory game birds and build partnerships among public and private groups interested in this valuable wildlife resource.

Three technical committees serve and advise the Council: one deals with waterfowl and one with webless migratory game birds, and one with non-game migratory birds. Each group meets at least annually to share information regarding ongoing research about migratory game birds.

The Council, in concert with the Technical Committees, determines actions required for sound migratory game bird management and makes recommendations to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.