Central Flyway

The Central Flyway was formed in 1948 and is composed of the states of Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, and North Dakota, and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories.

The Central Flyway Council consists of representatives (usually agency administrators) from their respective state, provincial, or territorial wildlife agencies that have management responsibility for migratory bird resources in the Flyway.

Central Flyway Council mission: To provide leadership in the international conservation of migratory game birds and build partnerships among public and private groups interested in this valuable wildlife resource.

Three technical committees serve and advise the Council: one deals with waterfowl, one with migratory shore and upland game birds (e.g., doves, rails, and cranes), and the third deals with migratory nongame bird issues. Each group has meetings each year to share information regarding ongoing research, monitoring, and management issues about migratory game birds.

The Council, in concert with the Technical Committees, determines actions required for sound migratory game bird management and makes recommendations to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.